Izabela Santos

Live in Caregiver available to start in 2018 (sponsor overseas needed)


Looking for families in Toronto, ON, Canadá

2 years of paid experience

10 - 20 per hour

Izabela's Bio

My name is Izabela, I am Brazilian and I am 25 years old. I am from Maceió, a city in the northeast of Brazil. And right now I live in Minnesota as an au pair. I am looking for a position as a Live in Caregiver stating in 2018 in Canada so the family must be willing to be my sponsor on that. I'm avaiable to go anywhere in Canada. I graduated in Psychology at the end of 2014 and I love my profession. In college I took some courses focusing on child-related subjects and this led me to take part in many different projects on this matter. One of them, for instance, followed a group of children who had learning difficulties, where I had the opportunity to develop educational games to help them improve their reading and math skills. However, the one that in my opinion was the most relevant aimed to create circus classes in a school context with children from 6 to 8 years old. I have always loved working with children because I think they have a lot to teach us with their imagination and spontaneity. We can embark on adventures without leaving home when we are in their company. I would love to have my own children one day, as I believe they can make us very happy and fulfilled human beings. One of the most remarkable experiences I had with children while I was in Brazil was with a neighbor I took care of. My neighbors adopted him when he was only a month old and he came in very weak and sick. I offered to help the parents by bathing him, changing his diapers and even cooking meals and putting him to bed. I assisted them for two years and loved every minute I took care of him. Unfortunately I had to stop after I moved, but I used to visit him whenever I can. We have a great love for each other. This experience was very important because I could learn a lot about how to take proper care of a child. In early 2011, I decided to learn sign language and started to really enjoy working with deaf people. I started doing translations at church and soon got a job as a volunteer teacher for deaf children. Although I could not do this for long due to my studies, I thoroughly enjoyed my time there. In addition to these experiences, I’ve been teaching children at church for four years. It is great to see them progress in faith. Right now I am living in the United States as an Au pair. I live in Minnesota and I took care of 3 kids (7, 6 and 2 yo). I have been here since November 2015 with the same family. They treat me as a part of their family and I will always love them. I work 45 hours per week. I drive the kids to their activities, I give them breakfast, I teach their homework. I don't do any housework besides their laundry and I don't make dinner for them. When I turned 15 years old, I moved from my hometown to the big city with my sister. My mother, however, continued to live in the small town that we used to due to her work. Living away from my parents was life changing. I learned to be even more responsible and to start doing things on my own. I love reading. I always have something in my hands and am always eager to buy more books. I love visiting new places, meeting people and learning about cultures. I like to keep myself busy. I love going to the movies, to the pool, try new sports and doing different things. I like to be useful and help people. I believe the choice of becoming a psychologist has a lot to do with my personality. When I see someone sad, I can’t help it but try to help even if only with a word of comfort. I also love laughing. I understand that your children are the most important legacy that you have and you can rest assure that I will take care of them as if they were my own. I hope to be like an older sister to them, play with them, teach and spend quality time with them. I believe that conversation is the key for everything and I would like to know my host family well before setting out on this incredible journey. I hope to always be able to talk about everything, so my needs and the family's can be met. I believe this is crucial for the adaptation process.
I am looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Age Group

  • 0 - 12 months
  • 1 - 3 years
  • 4 - 6 years
  • 7 - 11 years
  • 12+ years

Skills & Services

  • Babysitter
  • Twins/Multiples
  • Homework Help
  • Errands/Groceries
  • Drive Children
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Laundry
  • First Aid
  • CPR


Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat

About Izabela

  • Will care for up to 3 children
  • Comfortable With Pets
  • Non-Smoker