Laura McDermott

Warm, Happy, Chatty Childcare Practitioner

Nanny

Looking for families in North Vancouver, BC, Canada

5 years of paid experience

15 - 20 per hour

Laura's Bio

I'm a bubbly and enthusiastic 23 year old, from the UK on a valid open work permit which expires August 2018 I am looking for a full time live out nanny job preferably in North Vancouver, as I live in the Mount Seymour area but open to the Vancouver and Burnaby areas as I am currently using transport. I have just spent a year as an Au pair in Port Moody caring for two girls ages 4 and 7, It was one of the best things I have ever done every day was filled with fun and laughter! and I have currently been an Au pair in Lynn Valley for two adorable children a boy aged 3 and a girl aged 7 I am leaving the employment as now I have my own accommodation I need a few more hours and a higher wage to live on its a shame and the family were happy for me to stay working for them as a live out caregiver. Before coming to Canada on the IEC I have worked in childcare since leaving at school and completing apprenticeships in UK childcare courses giving me level 2 and 3 qualifications in childcare and early years. I worked at before and after school club with kids aged 5-11 and then worked full time in a day care centre with kids aged 3 months - 4 years old, I was based in the 2 year old room but have experience in all ages as we covered each others shifts when staff had time off sick or on holiday. Childcare is what I do, I couldn't see myself working in anything else! I come from a huge family with one younger brother but 14 cousins and of course they all have children who I babysit for and see regularly at family gatherings. I am more than happy with pets but I am unfortunately allergic to cats. I don't currently have a car but hold a valid BC licence and had my UK licence since 2012, I have completed paediatric first aid courses which include cpr In the uk but they expire after two years and mine currently has but I am looking into getting myself on a first aid course as soon as possible! If you think I could be the right fit for your family please feel free to get in touch :)

Age Group

  • 0 - 12 months
  • 1 - 3 years
  • 4 - 6 years
  • 7 - 11 years
  • 12+ years

Skills & Services

  • Nanny
  • Homework Help
  • Meal Preparation
  • Errands/Groceries
  • Drive Children
  • Crafts
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Laundry

Availability

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Morning
Afternoon
Evening
Overnight

About Laura

  • Will care for up to 1 child
  • Comfortable With Pets
  • Non-Smoker