Patricia Hodgins

Experienced Childcare Provider Wanted for our baby

Looking for caregivers in Vancouver, BC, Canada

Patricia's Bio

We welcome diversity in our home, including newcomers to Canada, indigenous persons, persons with disabilities, and students/young people (eg. 18 years old and over) who face barriers to employment (eg. recent immigration, youth with disabilities, indigenous youth), seniors, veterans of the armed force, and visible minorities. Weight handling of up to 30 lbs is required.

We require somebody who is reliable and trustworthy, organized and has good communication skills, with a high-school education and 2+ years of childcare experience on job-start, June 15th 2021. She is currently an infant, and we are looking for a minimum 6 month, but preferably 2-year job placement, so she will be a toddler (she was born May 2021)

We live in a townhouse near VGH, close to grocery stores, public transit and amenities. There is a room that is private, on the main floor, with a private patio and private bathroom, for a live-in option (i.e. room/board provided).

We both (eg. parents) work full time in science and medicine. Hours required are day-times from Monday to Friday, with a competitive wage offered. A functional knowledge of English is required for this position. Relevant references are also required. Vulnerable Sector check will be required for interested applicants, as well as child abuse registry check, Criminal record check, and Child welfare check - we will pay for this.

Tasks required include assuming full responsibility of household in the absence of us (parents), travel with our family on trips to assist with child supervision.

Additional specific skills include: tend to emotional well-being of child, safely bathe, dress and feed child, keep records of daily activities and health information regarding child, organize activities such as games and outings, supervise and care for child, prepare and serve nutritious meals, prepare child for rest/sleep periods, sterilize bottles, warm breast mild and prepare formulas and change diapers for infants, maintain a safe and healthy environment in the home, provide a nurturing and calm environment for child. Light housekeeping duties are required, such as washing household laundry, shopping for food and household supplies, and caring for pet. We have a dog who is NOT hypoallergenic. She is a friendly and quiet 4-year-old Brittany spaniel. Non-smokers only please. This ad is being posted by the grandmother of the baby.

Age Group

  • 0 - 12 months

Skills & Services Required

  • Babysitter
  • Nanny
  • Meal Preparation
  • Errands/Groceries
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Laundry